new song

11 Feb

It has been awhile since I’ve recorded something in my attic and it’s a good thing for me to do… even if it’s not all I want it to be. This song has been haunting me for some months and I was afraid I wouldn’t finish it… then important words came and the fear left! Here it is, all young and born.

f o g

look at us

we are the family of God

all of us

none of us

in these uncomfortable clothes

are here cause we chose

some of us

black sheep and shepherd-less

wounded and suffering alone

all of us faith in our fingernails

better for love we’ve known

look at us

finally falling apart

keep me out

from May to May

I’m stretched out like linen,

like salt water taffy days

I’m owning up

I won’t forget that the end is a place I can start

you’re playing dead

well I’ll make amends

with your pretend ghost in my heart

look at us

we the family of God

broken up, saving face

you don’t come to dinner

I know that I scare you away

it isn’t right

as it is in heaven

there’s room for us all in the choir

there you are

well I’ll be around

weighing down the wires

look at us

we are the family of God

One Response to “new song”

  1. summer mayne February 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Beautiful Poetry Kirsten! Beautiful song!

    Favorite lines:

    “are here cause we chose”
    “all of us faith in our fingernails”
    “I won’t forget that the end is a place I can start”
    “there’s room for us all in the choir”

    New beginning for me. Moved into my own apartment in Seattle….come visit me. Fill it up with this magic.

    Miss you. Love you so much.

Leave a Reply

